Regional Assembly 2020

Join Kentucky Disciples online for Regional Assembly like you’ve never experienced it before!

Saturday, October 17
Register online for Regional Assembly!

Download the Regional Assembly 2020 Program and Business Document

Come to the Water

Come to the Water - Regional Assembly 2020

The 2020 Biennial Assembly will still happen, just not in the way it usually does.

Agreeing that it was neither safe nor wise to have 200 people from all over the region descend upon Owensboro and First Christian Church, The Regional Board decided to cancel the in-person Assembly scheduled for October 16-17 in Owensboro.

However, there will be new things to celebrate and new things to come together—a new way to do Assembly worship and a new way to conduct business. Components of the Assembly will happen virtually.

The Assembly Planning Committee has taken on the task of planning how this will happen. They are working hard to make it an Assembly that you won’t want to miss.

Worship and Business

Worship will begin on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. Eastern, 9:30 a.m. Central. Rev.Terri Hord Owens, Disciples General Minister and President, will be preaching. Andra Moran, well-known Disciples and Nashville singer-songwriter, as well as some of Kentucky’s own musicians, will provide special music.

The business session will being at 1:00 p.m. Eastern, 12:00 p.m. Central. We will highlight our regional ministries, our institutional partners, and conduct the business of the region.

A Week of Workshops

View the workshop schedule

During the week leading up to the Assembly, we will have two workshops per night, starting Monday, October 12. The first evening workshop will begin at 6:00 p.m. Eastern, 5:00 p.m. Central. The second session will begin at 7:00 p.m. Eastern, 6:00 p.m. Central. The workshops will speak to issues of social justice, congregational life, leadership in real time, and the church in mission.

Saturday, October 17
Register online for Regional Assembly!

Download a registration form

We recognize with sorrow some ministries-even cherished ones-cannot be recreated In this context. We will not give into despair, but neither will we dabble in empty idealism. Rather we will proceed with intentional openness, exploring new models of ministry. We will hold plans for the future lightly, trusting God’s promise to the exiles Israelites: “For surely I plans I have for you,” says the Lord, “Plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

Values for Pandemic Ministry was written by Rev. Katherine Willis Pershey and is licensed under a creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 International License.